STAAR General Information

  • The State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) program, which was implemented in spring 2012, includes annual assessments for

    • reading and mathematics, grades 3–8
    • writing at grades 4 and 7
    • science at grades 5 and 8
    • social studies at grade 8

    At the high school, students in 9th, 10th and 11th grade will be required to take their corresponding end-of-course (EOC) assessments depending on the course work for that year: Algebra I, Biology, English I, English II, U.S. History.   

    New Sign TEA has created the following COVID-19 Support: Student Assessment website where you can find guidance and resources as we get through these difficult time.  


    If you have questions regarding Testing and Accountability, please direct your questions to the Research and Evaluation Department at 937-0330.

    TEA STAAR Resources