Return to Headlines

SISD schools earn Lone Star awards for outstanding counseling programs

SISD Counselors that received award

Eight Socorro Independent School District schools have won the 2021-22 Lone Star Awards for outstanding counseling programs from the Lone Star State School Counseling Association.

The prominent award honors counseling programs for their excellent work in providing the best comprehensive school counseling at the elementary, middle and high school levels.

The LSSSCA progressive awards system includes bronze, silver and gold levels. Each level is met with increased levels of rigor designed to elevate school counselor programs to national recognition through the American School Counselor Association (ASCA) Recognized ASCA Model Program (RAMP) awards.

Chester E. Jordan and Dr. Sue A. Shook elementary schools won the gold award. Sgt. Jose F. Carrasco Elementary School, Col. John O. Ensor, Montwood, Capt. Walter E. Clarke middle schools, and Jane A. Hambric School won the silver award. Socorro Middle School won the bronze award.

“We are so proud of our eight Team SISD school counseling programs,” said Tammi Mackeben, SISD director of guidance and school counseling. “Our school counselors work diligently every day to provide academic, career and social emotional support and guidance to all SISD students. This designation recognizes the passion our school counselors have for all SISD stakeholders.”

The eight SISD schools to earn the award were among 17 campuses chosen in the state.

“A lot of work went into the award application process,” said Monica Dominguez, counselor at Dr. Sue A. Shook Elementary School. “We are very grateful to a district and an administration who believes in the value that a comprehensive school counseling program can bring to our students and to our community.”

Schools receiving the LSSSCA gold, silver or bronze award demonstrated outstanding comprehensive counseling programs that were data-driven, focused on goal completion and aligned to the ASCA National Model.

Rosie Rodriguez, a counselor at Chester E. Jordan Elementary School, said she is beyond proud to be a school counselor in a district with outstanding school counseling leaders.

“With their support and the support of our campus administration, our counseling programs lead to systemic change for all students,” she said. “They, our students, are our why.”

The winners will be recognized at the LSSSCA conference Nov. 7-9 in Dallas.

“It is an honor to receive this award again,” said Jessica Perez, counselor at Montwood Middle School. “My satisfaction ultimately comes from the fact that my students know I am always here for them.”  

Published November 3, 2021

Strategic Direction: Highly Qualified, Effective Faculty and Staff