Return to Headlines

SISD volunteers honored for service at special recognition, awards event

Volunteers at recognition event

The Socorro Independent School District honored its volunteers for their service, time, and dedication to SISD campuses and departments at the 2022 annual Volunteer Recognition and Awards Luncheon April 22 at the ESC Region 19 Starlight Event Center.

Socorro ISD Superintendent Nate Carman, Ed.D. and the Board of Trustees thanked and congratulated the unsung heroes for their hard work during the 2021-2022 school year.

“Volunteers are integral to a successful school district and from what I have seen and learned we have an incredible program in Socorro ISD,” Dr. Carman said. “Thank you for being an invaluable part of our district.”

For the 2021-2022 school year, SISD had 6,248 registered volunteers who contributed 43,625 service hours. That service adds up to about $1.1 million worth of volunteer time.

“We are excited to be back and honor our SISD volunteers for all their contributions,” said Rachel Tarango, coordinator of the SISD volunteer program. “Our volunteers are amazing at being the extra helping hands at our campuses.”

Each Campus Volunteer of the Year was honored at the luncheon. In addition, awards went to the Military Volunteer of the Year, the Top Five Outstanding Parent Organization Groups, District Elementary Volunteer of the Year, and Secondary Volunteer of the Year.

“This was a very nice surprise, I thought it was an amazing gift that I am so happy to receive” said Selinna Jasso, SISD Elementary Volunteer of the Year from Helen Ball Elementary School. “I volunteer to make my little Dalmatians smile every day and to hopefully help make the teachers’ lives a little easier.”

The SISD Secondary Volunteer of the Year award winner also was happy and humbled to receive her award.

“I believe every volunteer in our district should receive the same award because they are all amazing for what they do, but to be recognized this way is truly an honor,” said Victoria Olivas Duron, SISD Secondary Volunteer of the Year from SPC. Rafael Hernando III Middle School.

Congratulations to the SISD Volunteers of the Year:

Military Volunteer of the Year

Major Beau Ellington from Sgt. Roberto Ituarte Elementary School

Top Five Outstanding Parent Organization Groups

CTE Diamondback Volunteers from Cactus Trails Elementary School

Mariachi Los Gavilanes Booster Club from Socorro High School

HBE Pawsome Parents from Helen Ball Elementary School

Americas High School Band Booster Volunteers

Hurshel Antwine Volunteer Group

Elementary Volunteer of the Year

Selinna Jasso from Helen Ball Elementary School

Secondary Volunteer of the Year

Victoria Olivas Duron from SPC. Rafael Hernando III Middle School

Campus Volunteers of the Year

Americas High School — Yvette Hassoun

Benito Martinez Elementary — Miguel Rico

Bill Sybert School — Perla Ochoa

Cactus Trails Elementary – Kathrin Mann

Campestre Elementary — Yolanda Soto

Capt. Walter E. Clarke Middle School — Tania Viesca

Chester E. Jordan Elementary — Priscilla Caldwell

Col. John O. Ensor Middle School — Tracy Levin

Desert Wind School — Gabby Luna

Dr. Sue A. Shook Elementary — Barbar Davis

Eastlake High School — Griselda Herrera

El Dorado High School — Chad Good

Elfida P. Chavez Elementary — Ixchel Rodriguez

Ernesto Serna School — Maria Urrutia

Escontrias Elementary — Ana Nuñez

H.D. Hilley Elementary — Rebecca Fierro

Helen Ball Elementary — Selinna Jasso

Horizon Heights Elementary — Elizabeth Fresquez

Hueco Elementary — Angelica Bernal

Hurshel Antwine Middle — Elisa Santana

James P. Butler Elementary — Christine Lentz

Jane A. Hambric School — Nancy Rodriguez

John Drugan School — Patricia Vega

Keys Academy and Options High School — Maria Garcia

Loma Verde Elementary — Veronica Rubalcava

Lujan-Chavez Elementary — Patricia Veloz

Mission Early College High School — Irma Leticia Pando

Mission Ridge Elementary — Becky Rosales

Montwood High School — Jeslyn Romero

Montwood Middle – Pete Lindsey

Myrtle Cooper Elementary — Ayde Gonzales

O’ Shea Keleher Elementary — Teresa Bustamante

Paso Del Norte School — Lisa Monjarrez

Pebble Hills High School — Ruby Smith

Purple Heart Elementary — Judith Gutierrez

Robert R. Rojas Elementary — Rebecca Perez

Salvador H. Sanchez Middle — Maria Wilson

Sgt. Jose F. Carrasco Elementary — Edith Delgado

Sgt. Roberto Ituarte Elementary — Lorraine Zamora

Sierra Vista Elementary — Amanda Escarsega 

Socorro High School — Donna Pompa

Socorro Middle School — Sul Anel Armendariz

SPC. Rafael Hernando III Middle School — Victoria Olivas-Duron

SSG. Manuel R. Puentes Middle School — Patrice Smith

Sun Ridge Middle School — Sharlene Kadoi

Vista Del Sol Elementary — Sandra Flores

Volunteer Sports Program — John Patti Morgan

William D. Slider Middle School — Jerry Elliott

Volunteer Recognition event photos

Published June 27, 2022

Strategic Direction: Highly Qualified, Effective Faculty and Staff