Return to Headlines

SISD student councils earn state, national recognitions for outstanding service, leadership

MHS, EHS, Helen Ball and MECHS student council group photos

Four schools in the Socorro Independent School District have been recognized by the Texas Association of Student Councils and by the National Student Council for their contributions to their school community.

The student councils at Eastlake, Mission Early College and Montwood high schools earned the 2022 National Gold Council of Excellence award from the National Student Council for their exemplary record of leadership, service, and activities that serve to improve the school and community.

Drew Dungan, student activities director at Mission Early College High School, said he and his students were excited about receiving the honor.

"I am incredibly proud of our council,” Dungan said. “It's a reflection of the hours and effort that our students put in."

Dungan said this was the first year the group sought this recognition, and that student body president Andrea Nunez was crucial in helping the team to earn the award.

"Being recognized as a National Gold Council of Excellence is a huge accomplishment for Mission,” Nunez said. “Each year our council always tries to do better than the year before and I think this year we achieved beyond our expectations by being recognized at the national level."

The Montwood High School student council earned the recognition from the National Student Council for the third time this year.

“This particular recognition is one of extreme pride for us because we were in remote learning for half the year for which we earned this award,” said Ana Player, student activities director at Montwood High School. “It didn't stop our council from providing activities and events, virtual and in person, that promoted leadership, school spirit and community service.”

The National Gold Council of Excellence Award is awarded to student councils that demonstrate the highest standards of quality in its operation, projects, and activities.

Eastlake, Mission Early College and Montwood were among some 250 high school student councils recognized in the entire nation and out of some 30 high schools in Texas.

In addition, Helen Ball Elementary student council was recognized as an award-winning campus by TASC and is the only elementary school in District IX El Paso area to earn the TASC Outstanding Student Council and sweepstakes awards.

The honor was awarded based on their collective work for Pride & Patriotism, promoting drug and alcohol safety and health and for contributing to their school energy and environment.

They were one of only a handful of elementary schools to receive this honor in the entire State of Texas.

Along with their national title, Eastlake, Mission Early College and Montwood earned numerous recognitions from the Texas Association of Student Councils, including Outstanding Student Council, Top Ten And Top Collaborative Projects, and Sweepstakes awards for service in   Pride & Patriotism; Energy & Environment; Drugs, Alcohol, Safety & Health; and Community Service.

Americas High School and Pebble Hills High School student councils also earned honors from TASC. Americas earned 2022 Top Ten Project, Top Ten Video and Sweepstakes awards. Pebble Hills was named an Outstanding Student Council and earned a Sweepstakes award.

  Published June 29, 2022

Strategic Direction: College and Career Readiness