• 2015 Texas Honor Board
    2015 Region 19 Board of the Year
    Socorro ISD Board of Trustees

    The Socorro ISD Board of Trustees consists of seven elected citizens who work with community leaders, families, and educators to develop sound educational policies that support student achievement and ensure the solvency of the District. They have been named twice as the Region 19 Board of the Year in 2012 and 2015. The SISD Board also earned the prestigious title of 2015 Texas Honor Board, being recognized for their commitment to their students and community, a continued focus on student achievement and improvement, and high ethical standards in governing the school district.  Together, they are a strong and cohesive team that helps the district continuously set and achieve new levels of excellence. Five of the trustees represent single-member districts and two are elected at-large.

Cynthia Ann Najera
District 2
Term Expires: 2021

Cynthia Najera has been a Socorro ISD parent for the past 12 years and is a former Parent Liaison for Horizon Heights Elementary School.
Read more about Cynthia Najera

David O. Morales
Vice President
District At-Large
Term Expires: 2023

Socorro family roots run deep with Mr. Morales. His great grandfather owned and operated The Modelo General Store in Socorro, Texas in the early 1900’s.
Read more about David Oscar Morales

Paul Guerra
District 4
Term Expires: 2021

A former teacher in Canutillo ISD, Paul Guerra is a graduate of the University of Texas at El Paso and has 16 years experience in heating, cooling and plumbing sales and management.
Read more about Paul Guerra

Gary Gandara
District 5
Term Expires: 2021

A proud graduate of Socorro High School, Gary Gandara has committed his professional and volunteer efforts to serving his local community.
Read more about Gary Gandara

Paul E. Garcia
District At-Large
Term Expires: 2023

Paul Garcia is a proud 2003 graduate of Socorro High School and has a bachelor’s degree in Social Psychology.
Read more about Paul Garcia

Eduardo Mena
District 1
Term Expires: 2023

Eduardo "Eddie" Mena was born and raised in Southern California. After graduating from Santa Ana High School, he entered the U.S. Army, where he served a military tour in Iraq.
Read more about Eduardo Mena

Angelica Rodriguez
District 3
Term Expires: 2021

Angelica Rodriguez received her Bachelor of Arts and Master of Education degrees from the University of Texas at El Paso.
Read more about Angelica Rodriguez

  • Group photo of the 2019-2020 Socorro ISD Board of Trustees

    Bottom row from left to right: Vice President Angelica Rodriguez, President Cynthia Ann Najera, Superintendent José Espinoza and Secretary Paul Guerra;
    Top row from left to right: Gary Gandara, Paul E. Garcia, David Oscar Morales
    , and Eduardo Mena.